Thursday, 22 March 2018

Elena Reviews: Stalking Jack the Ripper {Stalking Jack the Ripper #1} By Kerri Maniscalco

Title: Stalking Jack the Ripper

{Stalking Jack the Ripper #1}

Author: Kerri Maniscalco

Publication Date: September 2016

Genres: Young Adult, Historical Fiction, Mystery
Presented by James Patterson's new children's imprint, this deliciously creepy horror novel has a storyline inspired by the Ripper murders and an unexpected, blood-chilling conclusion...

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord's daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father's wishes and society's expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle's laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

The story's shocking twists and turns, augmented with real, sinister period photos, will make this dazzling, #1 New York Times bestselling debut from author Kerri Maniscalco impossible to forget.

Saturday, 17 March 2018

Most Anticipated Book Releases - April Edition! {Part 1}

Hello guys and welcome to April's most anticipated book releases! I do these every month and I sincerely hope that you find them helpful! I've already talked about how overwhelming all these new releases are and truthfully, it's immensely hard to keep up with them so, I'm not even going to pretend that I'm managing it that well! 

Don't forget to mark your calendars for the books that interest you and let me know some of your most anticipated book releases! Do you plan on picking up any of the ones featured?

**Also, the March most anticipated release Giveaway is open until the end of the month so, make sure to click on the image at the top right side, if you're interested in entering!**

Wednesday, 14 March 2018

Blog Tour - PACIFICA By Kristen Simmons {Review & Giveaway!}

Hello guys and welcome to the official Blog Tour for Pacifica by Kristen Simmons, a compelling and impactful read, which hit very close to home with its fascinating take on climate change and its negative effects on the environment and the world itself ! Keep reading to learn my thoughts on it and make sure to enter the Giveaway at the end of this post!

Author: Kristen Simmons

Publication Date: March 6th, 2018

Genres: Young Adult, Sci-Fi
Marin is cosario royalty, a pirate like her father and his father before him. Sailing the ocean to chase adventure is in her blood. But these days no one cares that the island town her people call home is named after her grandfather. They have a new leader, one who promises an end to their hunger – and one who thinks that girls are meant for the kitchen or the brothel. Marin knows she's meant for more than that, and with the sudden influx of weapons on the island, and rumors of a pending deal with the enemy oil nation in her wake, she knows a big score to gain the council's favor is the only way to save her people, and herself.

Ross lives a life of privilege. As the president's son he wants for nothing, but he longs for a life of adventure. On a dare, he convinces his best friend Adam to sneak out to the Docks, the site of local race riots between the poor Shorlings and the upper class. But when Adam is arrested along with the other Shorlings, and not even the president is willing to find him, Ross finds himself taking matters into his own hands. He journeys back into the Docks, ready to make deals with anyone, even a beautiful pirate, if it means Adam's safe return.

When Marin and Ross meet in dangerous Shoreling territory he sees a way to get his friend back and she sees her ticket home. The ransom a president’s son would command could feed her people for years and restore her family’s legacy. But somewhere in the middle of the ocean, Marin must decide if her heart can handle handing over the only person who has ever seen her as more than a pirate.

Monday, 12 March 2018

Blog Tour - Sneaking Out {Chased #1} By Chuck Vance {Review & Giveaway!}

Title: Sneaking Out

{Chased #1}

Author: Chuck Vance

Publication Date: March 6th, 2018

Genres: Young Adult Mystery
Could you sleep next to a murderer?

Luke Chase—yes, that Luke Chase, a modern hero ripped from the headlines—didn’t mean to get caught up in Mrs. Heckler’s murder. He just wanted to hook up with the hot new British girl at St. Benedict’s, and if that meant sneaking out to the woods after hours, then so be it. But little did he know someone would end up dead right next to their rendezvous spot, and his best friend and roommate Oscar Weymouth would go down for it. With suspects aplenty and a past that’s anything but innocent, Luke Chase reluctantly calls on his famous survival skills to find the true killer.

For fans of “A Study in Charlotte” and boarding school lit, “Sneaking Out” (book one in the “Chased” series) immerses readers in the privileged prep school world, with a mystery that exposes the dark side of life on a residential high school campus.

{Amazon | B&N}

Stacking the Shelves AKA I Need to Stop Buying Books!

Hello guys and welcome to another Stacking the Shelves, hosted by Tynga's Reviews! This is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course, ebooks!

I've placed a couple of orders recently and some of them haven't arrived yet but, I'm going to include them in another post! I've been thinking about purchasing one book for every five that I read because it's gotten a bit out of hand. There are so many new releases coming out and I'm extremely overwhelmed with how many books I want to get my hands on so, I really need to put some things in order and decide the best way to proceed! Probably not making any sense right now but, make sure to let me know which of these you've already read and whether you enjoyed them or not! Also, don't forget to let me know which books you added to your shelves this week! 

*The March New Release Giveaway is open and ready for your entries so, make sure to click on the picture that is located on the right side of the sidebar and at the very top of the page!*

Wednesday, 7 March 2018

Elena Reviews: Children of Blood and Bone {Legacy of Orïsha #1} By Tomi Adeyemi

Title: Children of Blood and Bone

{Legacy of Orïsha #1}

Author: Tomi Adeyemi

Publication Date: March 6th, 2018

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-
inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls. 

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good. 

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Sunday, 4 March 2018

Book Blitz - The History of Hilary Hambrushina By Marnie Lamb { Excerpt & Giveaway!}

Hello guys and welcome to the official Book Blitz for The History of Hilary Hambrushina by Marnie Lamb! Make sure to enter the Giveaway at the end of this post for a chance to win a 25$ Amazon Gift Card and don't forget to add this interesting Contemporary novel on your TBR lists!
Title: The History of Hilary Hambrushina

Author: Marnie Lamb

Publication Date: May 31st, 2017

Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary
Hilary has one goal for her first year in junior high: to become popular. But her plans are turned upside down when her best friend leaves for the summer and a quirky girl named Kallie moves in next door. Kallie paints constellations on her ceiling, sleeps in a hammock, and enacts fantastical plays in front of cute boys on the beach. Yet despite Kallie’s lack of interest in being “cool,” Hilary and Kallie find themselves becoming friends. That summer friendship, however, is put to the test when school begins, reigniting Hilary's obsession with climbing the social ladder. As Hilary discovers the dark side to popularity, she must decide who she wants to be before she loses everything.